It only takes o…

It only takes one person to change your life: you. – Ruth Casey

I’ve been thinking a lot about myself – doing some reflecting on who I am, where I am, and where I want to be. Deep stuff for the beginning of 2013, indeed, but what better time is there for some self-reflection?

It’s a little scary that I’m approaching my twenties, one fifth of my life already considered history. I don’t know if a Quarter-Life Crisis is a real thing or not, but I’m encountering it more and more often in my daily interactions with people around my age. What am I supposed to be doing? Where am I supposed to be going? What should I be aiming for?

This kind of loss is becoming more pronounced as our lives are becoming more formulaic: to be successful, you must hit such-and-such benchmarks in successive steps (matriculate into great university, find and excel in an internship, preferably by Junior year – even better if earlier – and then find yourself a great job before you graduate, graduate, and then sail off into your post-university life as a successful member of society). There are some variations, of course, but that’s what everyone expects of you. 

Which is why it’s frightening when things aren’t working out the way it’s supposed to. Maybe it’s time to break out of that formula – but how?

Veronica

